North Arlington School District

North Arlington School District

The North Arlington School District is a comprehensive community public school district that serves students in pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade from North Arlington in Bergen County, New Jersey, United States.

As of the 2018–19 school year, the district, comprising five schools, had an enrollment of 1,869 students and 135.1 classroom teachers (on an FTE basis), for a student–teacher ratio of 13.8:1.

The district is classified by the New Jersey Department of Education as being in District Factor Group "DE", the fifth-highest of eight groupings. District Factor Groups organize districts statewide to allow comparison by common socioeconomic characteristics of the local districts. From lowest socioeconomic status to highest, the categories are A, B, CD, DE, FG, GH, I and J.

In the 1970s and 1980s, declining enrollment led North Arlington to be one of the few school districts in the state that featured involuntary "combined classes" whereby classes at their Roosevelt School for grades 4 and 5 and for grades 6 and 7 were combined into a single classroom with a single teacher for each pair of grades.

Awards and recognition

In 2010, Roosevelt Elementary School was recognized with the National Blue Ribbon Schools Award of Excellence by the United States Department of Education.


Schools in the district (with 2018–19 school enrollment data from the National Center for Education Statistics) are:

Elementary schools
  • Thomas Jefferson Elementary School with 298 students in grades K-5
    • Jennifer Rodriguez, Principal
  • Franklin Roosevelt Elementary School with 226 students in grades K-5
    • Marie Griggs, Principal
  • George Washington Elementary School with 357 students in grades K-5
    • Elaine Jaume, Principal
Middle school
  • North Arlington Middle School with 422 students in grades 6-8
    • Nicole Campbell Russo, Principal
High school
  • North Arlington High School with 532 students in grades 9-12
    • Patrick D. Bott, Principal


Core members of the district's administration are:

  • Dr. Stephen M. Yurchak, Superintendent
  • Samantha Dembowski

Board of education

The district's board of education, with five members, sets policy and oversees the fiscal and educational operation of the district through its administration. As a Type II school district, the board's trustees are elected directly by voters to serve three-year terms of office on a staggered basis, with either one or two seats up for election each year held (since 2012) as part of the November general election. The board appoints a superintendent to oversee the day-to-day operation of the district.


External links

  • North Arlington School District
  • North Arlington School District's 2015–16 School Report Card from the New Jersey Department of Education
  • School Data for the North Arlington School District, National Center for Education Statistics

North Arlington School District

Langue des articles

Quelques articles à proximité