Bloomfield Public Schools (New Jersey)

Bloomfield Public Schools (New Jersey)

The Bloomfield Public Schools are a comprehensive community public school district that serves students in pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade from Bloomfield, in Essex County, New Jersey, United States.

As of the 2017-18 school year, the district's 11 schools had an enrollment of 6,487 students and 544.0 classroom teachers (on an FTE basis), for a student–teacher ratio of 11.9:1.

The district is classified by the New Jersey Department of Education as being in District Factor Group "DE", the fifth-highest of eight groupings. District Factor Groups organize districts statewide to allow comparison by common socioeconomic characteristics of the local districts. From lowest socioeconomic status to highest, the categories are A, B, CD, DE, FG, GH, I and J.

Awards and recognition

During the 2007-08 school year, Oak View Elementary School was recognized with the National Blue Ribbon School Award of Excellence by the United States Department of Education, the highest award an American school can receive.


Schools in the district (with 2017-18 enrollment data from the National Center for Education Statistics) are:

Early childhood
  • Early Childhood Center at Forest Glen (151 students; in grades PreK-2)
    • Linda Colucci, Principal
Elementary schools
  • Berkeley School (451; K-6)
    • Dr. Natashia Baxter, Principal
  • Brookdale Elementary School (338; K-6)
    • Lauren Barton, Principal
  • Carteret Elementary School (415; K-6)
    • John Baltz, Principal
  • Demarest Elementary School (518; K-6)
    • Marie Hardenberg, Principal
  • Fairview Elementary School (550; K-6)
    • Ginamarie Mignone, Principal
  • Franklin Elementary School (361; K-6)
    • Marianne Abbasso, Principal
  • Oak View Elementary School (384; K-6)
    • Marianne Abbasso, Principal
  • Watsessing Elementary School (323; K-6)
    • Mary DiTrani, Principal
Middle school
  • Bloomfield Middle School (940; 7-8)
    • Alla Vayda-Manzo, Principal
High school
  • Bloomfield High School / Bridges Academy (1,979; 9-12)
    • Christopher Jennings, Principal


Core members of the district's administration are:

  • Salvatore Goncalves, Superintendent of Schools
  • Hwey-Hwey "Vicky" Guo

The district's board of education has nine members who set policy and oversee the fiscal and educational operation of the district through its administration. As a Type II school district, the board's trustees are elected directly by voters to serve three-year terms of office on a staggered basis, with three seats up for election each year held (since 2013) as part of the November general election.

In November 2015, Kent Weisert was elected to the school board according to preliminary results even though he died two weeks before the election results came in.


External links

  • Bloomfield Public Schools
  • Bloomfield Public Schools's 2015–16 School Report Card from the New Jersey Department of Education
  • School Data for the Bloomfield Public Schools, National Center for Education Statistics

Bloomfield Public Schools (New Jersey)

Langue des articles

Quelques articles à proximité